COOL, QUIRKY LAYERS

image2

Layering involves mastering the art of combining clothing so that if functions properly (protects you, allows you to move, and is comfortable) and is aesthetically pleasing to the human eye (artofmanliness.com).

When it comes to dressing up, I am a sucker for layering-so much that I feel underdressed with one layer of clothing except if I am donning statement pieces. The beauty of layering is that it lets you build up a  look which defines a  fashion savvy individual.

When I layer I make sure that each layer of clothing is something I could wear on its own, I never exceed two vivid colours and if I am wearing two prints (which is my limit), one should be more subdued, not forgetting that the two should compliment each other.

I keep getting more irreverent  when it comes to style because I am not one to conform. This look marries casual with formal in an unconventionally cool way. Usually, the crisp white dress shirt and waistcoat combo would call for a blazer but I went off course with a distressed denim jacket worn with a popped collar for a much needed renegade touch. Pin button badges are having a moment so I couldn’t think of a quirkier way to accessorize my denim jacket. To complete this look, I opted for yellow hued angular aviator sunglasses.

Take a look;

image1 (1)

image1

IMG_4101

If you had to layer a different casual piece over the shirt and waistcoat, what would it be? Sound off in the comment box below.

 

Wardrobe;

Shirt: H&M Easy Iron

Waistcoat: Thrifted

Denim jacket: ThisnThat256

Button pin ons: Polka Dots Store

Sunglasses: ThisnThat256

 

Photography: Drama Duncans

Leave a Reply

